

Teaching and Learning, Early Childhood Care and Education

Early Childhood Care and Education Commission

Minutes

The Early Childhood Care and Education Commission met on Tuesday, November 28, 2023, in the Thomas Jefferson Room, located in the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The meeting was called to order at 10:13 a.m. Members present were: Maria Blanco, Susannah Boudreaux, Dr. Jenna Chiasson, Dr. Cynthia D. DiCarlo, Lindsey Fisher, Rep. Barbara Freiberg, Anya Glusman, Melissa Goudeau, Mattilyn Karst, Pheriche Perkins, Dr. Paula Polito, Caitlyn Robinson, Monique Rouege, Dr. Allison Trigg, Lindsey Vicknair, Kahree Wahid.

Michelle Demeulenaere served as proxy for Dr. Susannah Craig, Charles Hayes served as proxy for Toni Buxton, Susan East Nelson served as proxy for Sherry Guarisco, Ashley Politz served as proxy for Dr. Keith Perrin, Candace Weber served as proxy for Dr. Libbie Sonnier, and Sherrie Clark served as proxy for Nancy Toraen.

Sen. Regina Barrow, Toni Buxton, Dr. Susannah Craig, First Lady Donna Edwards, Dionne Frost, Sherry Guarisco, Ruth Lawson, Michael Melerine, Yolanda Motley, Dr. Keith Perrin, Cindy Rushing, Monique Scott-Spaulding, Dr. Kenyetta Nelson-Smith, Liz Smith, Melissa Stilley, Judy Thompson, Michael Tipton, and Nancy Tooraen were not in attendance.

A quorum was not present.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education were Karen Powell and Dr. Jenna Chiasson.

Without a quorum of the membership present the meeting was adjourned at 10:14 a.m. Informal discussion among members present regarding agenda items continued until 11:42 p.m.

The LDOE provided an update regarding:

The recommendations and content for the Spring 2024 Commission Report.

Louisiana Department of Educationdoe.louisiana.gov | P.O. Box 94064 • Baton Rouge, LA • 70804-9064